“I begged him to come home”: Breaking the taboo around texting the dead (Article link)

I don’t know about you, but I can absolutely relate to this article about using a mobile phone to talk to a deceased loved one. When Catherine was alive, much of our communication was by phone, as she lived in a different city, so after she was gone, it seemed most natural to call her…even though I had her phone. I talked with her a lot in those early times. Then her phone got turned off and I was in a panic to lose the sound of her voice mail.  After a lot of calls and dealing with the provider, I reactivated her contract for a month and made a recording of her voice mail,  which I still have and listen to. After sometime, I stopped calling her, it might have been a year or more, I can’t remember.

Like the article says, there is nothing wrong with using this technology to talk to our loved one. Have you? Do you?

Statesman: “I begged him to come home”: Breaking the taboo around texting the dead. http://google.com/newsstand/s/CBIw-Z2E7DQ

Leave a Reply

